Thread: Teach me how to spray in Fairfield County, CT?

Teach me how to spray in Fairfield County, CT?

Ok - I'm a relative newbie in woodworking (it's become a hobby/passion for the last 4-5 years). I've completed a number of furniture pieces successfully and am pleased - but I'm frustrated with the finishing portion of my projects.

I've been using General Finishes Arm R Seal wipe on poly with reasonable success, but it's taking _forever_ and I have to deal with drips/runs on vertical surfaces (absolutely could be my technique).

I finally invested in a Fuji Q5, but wanted to see if someone would be able/willing to teach me how to use it - I have no experience spraying and haven't found any courses in the area. I believe I have everything needed (but can review/confirm).

Happy to pay (reasonable cash, favorite beverage, whatever) and my place or yours - I'm in Norwalk CT.

If you'd be willing to help I'd be very greatful! PM here or email is jm _at_ removeme computertoolbox.com

Thanks!

Josh, can't help you with the 1 on 1 teaching but just checking whether you've tried reading and watching the various You Tube videos out there? A Fuji or HVLP is about as easy an intro to spraying as it gets once you understand the basics of the gun and getting the right size nozzle for the material's viscosity. And a Q5 can spray almost anything. I can recommend Jeff Jewitt's book on spraying which goes into a lot of detail and has a DVD included. Jeff's website also has a number of videos that are worth taking in. I found a lot of practice improves your technique - you can use dyed water on paper or cardboard to practice so that you don't waste materials. Start simple with flat, horizontal surfaces and work from there.

And drips or runs with Arm R Seal is your technique :-) trying to put too much on or an overloaded cloth - I had success with blue shop towels as its difficult to overload them