Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Midi Lathe ??

Best Midi Lathe ??

How many times has a question been asked like this? So, newbie here.. I currently have a Jet Mini 1014.. the old gray/blue one from the late 90's. Works fine for pens, stoppers and other small things.

If I want to upgrade slightly to turn, say, a 10"+ bowl, I'm thinking of a Midi 12". I don't think I'll be turning longer spindles.. at least at this time.. and I probably won't be turning a larger bowl for some time either.

I think I have looked at the 12" Jet, Delta, Rikon, etc and tried to figure the pros and cons of each. I don't mind having to have different sized items to thread onto the headstock.. i.e. 1x8 vs 1 1/4x8 and possibly different tool posts, etc.

I'd like a variable speed.. but, I'm a bit concerned with bogging down the lathe or even belt slippage. How much of a concern is that with the above lathes..

Looking for personal experiences with each of these..or possible suggestions for one not mentioned above.

Thanks for any help.

Bill

2. Sounds like you need a Jet 1221 VS!
    Remember, in a moments time, everything can change!

Vision - not just seeing what is, but seeing what can be!

I have the Rikon, Jet 1221vs and the new Jet 1620. The Jets are a clear winner in my book.

Oneway 1224 midi lathe, I consider the best Midi Lathe.
    Have fun and take care

I have only been turning bowls for about 6 months but I bought the Nova Comet II with a max 12" bowl capacity. So far, it's been great. Keep in mind that I have experience with no other lathes. However, mine came with a Nove G3 chuck which was just what I also needed to start turning bowls. I don't know if this lathe is the best for the money out there, but it seems to me to be a good solid tool. Below are some pictures of some of the bowls I've turned so far with the lathe.
    Attached Images Attached Images