Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on a simple project please.

Advice on a simple project please.

Hello all,
    I am making a few night stands that are like the attached photo but I am using 1 3/4 inch oak. So it is much thicker and heavier. I do not have a dowel kit the right size in order to line up the holes for the dowels. The first one I made was just a bit off, but I want to correct that "bit". I started to think maybe I don't even need to use the dowels. Would just wood gluing the pieces together be substantial enough? Or with them being so thick and heavy I should use the dowels for sure?
    Thanks for the advice. I know it's probably a stupid question, but I am just learning.
    THANKS!!!!night stand.jpg

You could use screws with plugs of the same or contrasting wood and I think it would be strong enough.
    Confidence: The feeling you experience before you fully understand the situation

You actually have much worse problems if you are building it the way it is shown in the picture.

Notice that the top and bottom pieces have their grain running left to right.

The side pieces are front to back. That means the top and bottom will be shrinking/expanding at a much greater rate than the side pieces. If you use dowels you are almost guaranteeing a split in the top and bottom. If you just glue it, it will fall apart.

Hopefully you are not doing that, the piece shown in the photo was built by someone not very familiar with woodworking. Unless it is some kind of particle board with veneer on it. Even so, from a design standpoint, the grain running counter to each other does not look that great.

If'n it were me I would be thinking seriously about using a sliding dovetail. It will work even if you set up the grain as shown in the pic. It would be blind in the front and you would only glue the front few inches of the dovetail.