Thread: Carved wooden pliers

Carved wooden pliers

Has anyone tried these clever pliers carved from one piece of wood?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TE3PBweDdFs

My friend John Lucas sent this link to me so I thought I'd try it tonight. I didn't have the right knife and didn't take the time to shape one so I used a #11 scalpel (broke two of them!)

This is my first try. I think I can do better.

Basswood, 1/2"x1/2"x4-1/2". Quick cell phone photos, poor lighting, sorry.

No blood was shed in the making of these pliers.

JKJ

I always make a few of these (mine don't look much better than yours) at Scout camp each year to amuse and amaze younger Scouts. I have seen examples that were highly detailed and made you think you could put them to work.

John,
    I stopped at the Warther Museum a number of years ago on one of my many trips from NC to MI and had the pleasure of meeting Mr. David Warther. He took the time to show me how he made these (and I watched very closely!!). As soon as I got home I ordered up some basswood and set to making them for all my friends. Mr. Warther has since passed away but I will always remember that visit - both for the opportunity to see such wonderful wood carvings as well as to learn something fun! I'll have to see if I still have any of them here...
    The pliers tree is truly amazing - 511 pairs of pliers from a single piece of wood!
    pliers-3.jpg
    Mike Schnorr
    CNCs - Camaster Stinger (25"x36"x5"), Shopbot (4'x4'), Roland Modela (6"x8"x2 3/8")
    Laser Engravers - Epilog Legend (12"x24" - 25W)
    Embroidery Machines - SWF t1501C, Brother BAS-416, Renaissance, Melco EMC1, Melco EP1

Good clean fun! I saw that picture - incredible.