Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which sliding table would be most practical for my space?

Which sliding table would be most practical for my space?

Hi all,
    I am new to SMC. I decided to turn my garage into a wood shop after getting tired of hauling my jobsite tools in and out evrytime I want to do a project. I am making the leap to a slider and want to get it right. I have looked at Minimax and Felder and have narrowed it down to either a SC 4 elite or a S 315 elite s, A Felder 700 is not out of the question but price and wait time are making me lean towards the Minimax. I Will be working with hardwoods and reclaimed woods, gluing up panels for doors and some cabinetry all as a hobbiest. I want the longest slider possible for straightlining but also want to use it for all my miters instead of a chop saw. My garage is roughly 18x18 . I am planing on the saw outfeed through the open garage door(florida) with the rip fence side close to the wall and outrigger table towards the center front of the garage. Can I realistically fit the S315? If so am I losing the ability to do smaller miter cuts? Does one crosscut fence have a clear advantage for miters? This will be my first slider and I want it to be my last saw purchase.
    Mike (space, not spae)
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 06-23-2017 at 9:13 AM.

Mike, I'm assuming that you're talking about a US-spec Minimax machine. If so, the Si315E-S will have a 10.5' slider and need around 25' of real estate from lock to lock on the slider. The SC4E with an 8.5' slider should work though. They're both great machines, you couldn't go wrong with either. Are you dealing with Sam Blasco?

Erik

My 5.5 foot slider lives in a shop similar in size. A larger slider would take too much space.
    Think about a Track Saw.