Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shaper

Shaper

Hello everyone. What a great forum full of invaluable information!

I am in the market for a new 3HP shaper with a budget of $2500-$3500 USD. I would prefer new. While I am pretty experienced with a router table, I am somewhat new to the shaper world so am not entirely sure what I should be looking for and which brands are the most reliable. At most this shaper will be used for light production as I am a one man shop. I also need a little help in determining what kind of cutter head works best. It seems there are at least three options available. Any and all input would be greatly appreciated! (and if I didn't give enough info its because Im not sure what other info to give. Sorry!)

Chris
    '

Chris, would help if you could provide more insight as to what you're going to be producing/making - especially the types of profiles that you want to create. Also, is the budget just for the shaper or for some of the tooling as well? Have you considered or do you need a power feeder and is that in the budget? Any reason why you are choosing 3HP?

Thanks for the reply Andy! I tend to stick with the 22° "Shaker" profile or a simple 3/16 roundover. Of course versatility is a plus. I plan to make mostly cabinet doors but as my understanding of the usefulness of shapers increases I will certainly expand my horizons. I suspect 3HP is plenty of power for my needs at this point. Something tapped for a power feeder would be nice but I don't plan to use one at this point so can tap it later. Tooling can be extra. Would like some kind of tooling that allows for at least a 1/2 tongue. 5/8 preferably. Hope that helps.