Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Question about copyright

Question about copyright

Suppose a client brings you an image to engrave that you know is copyrighted, trademarked, or otherwise protected. Do you engrave it for the customer?

Does it matter if they are asking you to engrave several / hundreds / thousands instead of one?

I used to work at a Kinko's copy center and we wouldn't make copies of anything we knew to be copyrighted. I always thought the company was being overly cautious but, if not, would I be correct in assuming the same thing applies to engraving?

If you don't engrave protected images, etc., how much responsibility do feel you have for finding out whether or not something is protected?

I'm not looking for actual legal advice, just curious about common practices.

Blog Entries
    I am new to the game, but no. I've had several requests from Arkansas razorback items. I have a couple of images that are not licensed images, thise are the only ones I've done and sold. It costs a Benjamin per year to license as crafter. I might do it at some point, but nit right now.
    Woodworking, Old Tools and Shooting
    Ray Fine RF-1390 Laser Ray Fine 20watt Fiber Laser
    SFX 50 Watt Fiber Laser
    PM2000, Delta BS, Delta sander, Powermatic 50 jointer,
    Powermatic 100-12 planer, Rockwell 15-126 radial drill press
    Rockwell 46-450 lathe, and 2 Walker Turner RA1100 radial saws
    Jet JWS18, bandsaw Carbide Create CNC, RIA 22TCM 1911s and others

No, never. I don't hesitate to tell the customer that it can't be done. It doesn't matter if it's one or ten thousand, I'm not willing to take any chances even if there is 0% chance of getting caught. There is plenty of money to be made that is 100% legit.

Hopefully not too much of a tangent from the original post, but say a job was big enough that you wanted to go legit with it. Do you just start calling legal departments asking about licensing, or is there a better way to do things?