Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: I take it all Back. Really.

I take it all Back. Really.

A while back i posted to a wooden mallet discussion. I am new to hand tool woodworking, and mentioned that most of the woodworkers I had seen tended to use the plastic headed mallets, and I had seldom seen them use wooden ones. I posited that mallet making might perhaps be a "beginner" thing, ie; a project for new guys to help one learn a bit, and that I was perfectly happy with my $5 white rubber mallet.
    Whereupon the thread was inundated with gentlemen saying "No, perish the thought. I would not know what to do without my wooden mallet", or other words to that effect.
    So, I had some cutoffs from a couple of guitar builds, and decided to build me a nice mallet. I used it cutting mortises and tenon this afternoon on my bench build. I am blown away at how efficient this thing is. There is power in every strike. The lightest of taps transfers a huge amount of force to the chisel, and thus the wood. I cut split tenon with it, and it was like going from a Yugo to a high performance sports car. Wonderful, and I'd just like to say, "I would not know what to do without my wooden mallet".

Below are pics. It is laminated, curly maple on the outside, black walnut in the center, and straight grained maple for the handle. 3 or 4 coats of wipe on poly took care of the finish.
    Once again I have to say thank you for the knowledge on this forum.
    100_3619.jpg

100_3620.jpg

100_3621.jpg

Works good. Looks Good. Can't ask for more than that.

Very nice!

Looks great from here!

Thank you, gentlemen.

Much nicer than mine!

That looks really slick, Mike!

Kinda too nice to use. Well done, Sir.
    Be Blessed

George

Thanks for posting that MB2, I had wondered the same thing myself. Great project for me. How about a Rube Goldberg mallet?
    David
    Confidence: That feeling you get before fully understanding a situation (Anonymous)