Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Outfeed/Assembly Table

Outfeed/Assembly Table

Evening all,

I am planning on starting an outfeed/assembly table this weekend. My original plan was to make a torsion box top (pretty much Mark Spagnuolo's found here:http://www.finewoodworking.com/2007/...assembly-table) and put it on a pretty basic 2x4 frame. One thing I'd figured I would add is a small vise and some dog holes. After starting to lay it out in CAD I realized that I am sure to drop all kinds of crap in those dog holes without being able to it them out.

I am a newb and the vast majority of things I am building right now are shop projects. A $20 plane and 3 Kobalt chisels are the extent of my hand tools (I dont even own a hand saw , yet). The vise and dogs are mainly wanted for assembly and holding some things I place. I dont plan on putting much stress on them. Being new and with limited skills I know that whatever I build I will probably want to rebuild inside a of a year so I am looking to go fairly cheap and easy to make this first time around.

I guess I should get to my question...that top with dog holes a good idea? Can anyone point me to a design that they feel might be better considering my situation?

Thanks!

My outfeed table/workbench is a solid core door with tempered Masonite face. There is a Craftsman woodworking vise mounted. Keep it simple and go to work.
    "Anything seems possible when you don't know what you're doing."

Quote Originally Posted by andy bessette View Post
    My outfeed table/workbench is a solid core door with tempered Masonite face. There is a Craftsman woodworking vise mounted. Keep it simple and go to work.
    Makes a lot of sense!

Tim

If the dog holes go all the way through the top, they won't fill up.... and if they are stopped holes, a blast from the air compressor cleans 'em out quickly. (Don't look in the hole when you blast the air.... don't ask me how I know....)