Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to woodturning

New to woodturning

I'm relatively new to wood turning. I've taken 2 classes in wood turning. Lures and Pens. I'm pretty sure I'm hooked. I'm not new to wood working as I do a lot of CNC and other misc stuff but I'm not familiar at all with lathes. Is it something I can buy and learn on my own through practice and you tube or should I just continue to take classes until I hone my skills? Just looking for opinions or recommendations.

I think the best way to learn woodturning is to find a nearby club. A club will have a mentoring program that will give you hands on help with a mentor. To find a club, search " woodturning club, your city, state".

I've definitely looked into that. Unfortunately my local club has a summer hiatus until October, no meetings or mentoring. But I'm definitely joining up when they start back up.

Quote Originally Posted by Kristin Forbes View Post
    I'm relatively new to wood turning. I've taken 2 classes in wood turning. Lures and Pens. I'm pretty sure I'm hooked. I'm not new to wood working as I do a lot of CNC and other misc stuff but I'm not familiar at all with lathes. Is it something I can buy and learn on my own through practice and you tube or should I just continue to take classes until I hone my skills? Just looking for opinions or recommendations.
    I agree with Dwight, a club is extremely valuable. If you list where you live in your profile someone may know of resources in your area. Both of the clubs I attend have people willing to help. I often have new wood turners in my shop, for example, these two vet students at their second lesson (1st lesson is an intro to spindle turning and the skew chisel):

Girls_IMG_20150804_121948_936_lathes.jpg Girls_IMG_20150804_203606_bowls.jpg