Thread: Gymnastic Style Wood Ring

Gymnastic Style Wood Ring

Hello all,
    I am making a walker for my niece's child that she saw on TV. It is a simple thing, except for I have no idea how to make a wooden ring! Any tips out there? Sorry so simple, I just don't know where to start. I have never tried to make a ring out of wood before. I attached a picture for you to see what it is. I looked online to maybe just buy them but the only place I could find them were actual gymnastics rings which are expensive.
    Willa Walker.jpg
    THANKS!

Quote Originally Posted by Charles Webber View Post
    Hello all,
    I am making a walker for my niece's child that she saw on TV. It is a simple thing, except for I have no idea how to make a wooden ring! Any tips out there? Sorry so simple, I just don't know where to start. I have never tried to make a ring out of wood before. I attached a picture for you to see what it is. I looked online to maybe just buy them but the only place I could find them were actual gymnastics rings which are expensive.
    Willa Walker.jpg
    THANKS!
    Do you have a lathe? Rings are pretty easy to make.

There are several methods to make one. For example, like in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxtMSUgCDuY
    There are a number of other ways as well. Most involve shaping one side, then the other.

For one that might support weight, even of a child, I might laminate two layers or so for strength.

JKJ

Quote Originally Posted by John K Jordan View Post

For one that might support weight, even of a child, I might laminate two layers or so for strength.

JKJ
    Yes, good idea also rotate the pieces so you have long grain and cross grain or use cabinet grade plywood. If you don't have a lathe you could cut out the segments with a bandsaw, jig saw or scrollsaw and then round over with a router or by hand with a rasp, file or sandpaper. Doesn't have to be perfect, just fun for the kids.

Blog Entries