Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lathe Opinions requested

Lathe Opinions requested

So I'm embarking on an extended period of insane long hours at work in order to feed/upgrade my addiction. I am currently turning on a Jet 1236 and I am going to upgrade to a new lathe. I'm debating between the One-way 2436 with 3HP, the American Beauty, and a Powermatic 4224b. The 4224b appears to be full of useful features, i.e. integrated vacuum system, including 96 position indexing wheel, etc. However it is apparently made in China which makes me a little uneasy. I have no experience with the American Beauty, and I have turned on the Oneway and was very pleased with it. I turn just about everything from small bowls to large spindles. Opinions please!!
    Through art we see the beauty within the common....

There would be no contest for me with those three choices. I like cast iron. My Powermatic has worked flawlessly for ten years. You stated that you turned on a Oneway so it appears a steel lathe does not bother you so any choice of those three will be a good choice for you.

I turned on a PM 3520 for about 2 years then about 5 months ago I received my Robust AB. They both turn wood but I sure like the AB and all the features. I turn mostly green wood and the stainless ways are very nice. The head stock is much easier to slide to the end and with the gas assisted shocks on the tail stock I do a large part of my turning standing at the end of the lathe.(my back thanks me) I like turning large bowls ( 18-23") and so far the AB has been rock solid with the feet sitting on top of the concrete floor.

I had to get used to the non digital readout but now it's not problem, I just pay more attention to the piece I am turning in regards to how fast I want it to turn.

have fun choosing your next lathe