Thread: Question About The Combined Bevel Angle Of Skews

Question About The Combined Bevel Angle Of Skews

I'm fairly new at turning and up to a few days ago never touched my skews. However, I've decided to start practicing with them to try and gain some proficiency. I've been practicing on 2" x 2" cherry spindle blanks.

For those of you that are already proficient with a skew I have a question involving the combined bevel angle. I have two 1" flat skews with one skew ground at a combined bevel angle of 25 degrees and one ground at a combined bevel angle of 45 degrees.

I'm finding it is much easier for me to control the skew with the combined bevel of 25 degrees than the one at 45 degrees.

Does this make sense? I'm asking because some things I've read suggest it should be the other way around.

I would appreciate your comments

Thank you

Combined angles of 25 degrees, to me at least means your platform was set to 12 1/2 degrees. That is pretty flat. It seems the range is 20 to 30 degrees on each side, but like turners themselves, there are a lot of differences. If you are at 45 degrees on both sides, that is pretty blunt, but a fairly common angle range for bowl gouges and spindle roughing gouges...

robo hippy

Quote Originally Posted by Dom Garafalo View Post
    I'm fairly new at turning and up to a few days ago never touched my skews. However, I've decided to start practicing with them to try and gain some proficiency. I've been practicing on 2" x 2" cherry spindle blanks.

For those of you that are already proficient with a skew I have a question involving the combined bevel angle. I have two 1" flat skews with one skew ground at a combined bevel angle of 25 degrees and one ground at a combined bevel angle of 45 degrees.

I'm finding it is much easier for me to control the skew with the combined bevel of 25 degrees than the one at 45 degrees.

Does this make sense? I'm asking because some things I've read suggest it should be the other way around.