Thread: VCarve Sign Too Deep?

Question VCarve Sign Too Deep?

Hey Guys,

I recently purchased an AXIOM AutoRoute Pro 8. It's a great machine but I am pretty new to the
    CNC world. My main business is laser engraving and CNC work is quite a bit different.

anyway, I am using VCarve Pro 9. I have am trying to make a simple vcarve sign. But no matter
    what I try, it seems like the bit is going to deep and it's causing the letters to overlap. I know I can control
    the cut depth but I feel like I may be doing something wrong...

What do you think?

I've attached photos for reference

Thanks!
    Kirk

sign1.jpg

sign1.jpgsign1.jpg
    60 Watt Epilog Helix
    Pet shark with a freaking laser beam attached to it's head.

Is the bit you are using to wide? If you go less deep do the shallow cuts look wrong?

Hey Leo,

I'm using a 90deg vBit. The shallow cuts look ok but not perfect. I also noticed the bit plunges quite deep into the material and I'm just not sure if that should be the case or not..
    I mean the bit is almost completely into material at it's deepest

thanks!
    60 Watt Epilog Helix

I would use a 60º bit myself. I think the reason letters are blending is because of the 90º bit.

Ok i'm going to mess with flat depth tomorrow
    and also I have a brand new 60 deg bit I will try out as your suggesting

Thanks Leo!

kirk
    60 Watt Epilog Helix