Thread: Wood Movement

Wood Movement

As a woodworker I am always conscientious about wood movement with my craft. When I lived in the US I never really saw much movement. I lived in Arizona, Oregon, and 1 mile from the Beach in San Diego. When I moved to Fiji I SAW WOOD MOVEMENT. Furniture that had never expanded or contracted such that it was visible now had significant movement. 8" dresser drawers expanded 1/2". So now I really worry about it.

I am looking at building a pedestal table. The entire table will be made with Mahogany as it is cheap here. I will glue up 2" thick boards to a width of approx 40" The pedestals will be of 4" thick stock, glued up to around 30" wide. The pedestals will be heavily carved so it will be 4" thick in the center, but taper down to 2" near the edges. ALL the grain will be running the same direction.

Since the top and pedestals are the type of wood, same grain direction and similar average thicknesses, Can I assume the table top and pedestal with expand and contract nearly identically? Hence I don't need to worry about wood movement for this design?

Thanks,

I'll jump in and say that I agree with you - wood movement will be equalized so no tearing apart of the joints.
    We could be wrong but I'd risk it.
    "... for when we become in heart completely poor, we at once are the treasurers & disbursers of enormous riches."
    WQJudge

Kim,

I think you are right to think about wood shrinkage for a table that size. My recommendation would be to mount the pedestal to the table though routed holes. Here is my thinking: