Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: experience with Cantek edge sanders?

experience with Cantek edge sanders?

i'm looking to buy an edge sander - ideally the kundig uniq, but at $16k, i have to expand my options. does anyone have experience with the cantek oscillating edge sanders, or suggestions on other brands to look at?

thanks.

-- dz

For about 1/5 or 1/6 the cost, you could get any of these- Ekstrom -Carlson, Whirlwind, Wysong and Miles, Oakley, or Mattison.
    It would also be twice the sander of anything new.
    I have been running an Oakley 648 for about 15 years in a production shop. Only complaint, I wish it had more capacity.

peter, thanks. my concern with old iron is availability, and time to restore and get running. i simply would rather spend money for good, new equipment, than source and fight the issues that come with old iron. are these fairly readily available?

thanks again. appreciate the feedback.

--- dz

Quote Originally Posted by David Zaret View Post
    peter, thanks. my concern with old iron is availability, and time to restore and get running. i simply would rather spend money for good, new equipment, than source and fight the issues that come with old iron. are these fairly readily available?

thanks again. appreciate the feedback.

--- dz
    So buy one from someone that has gone over the machine and has it running in their shop. At one point I had 6, down to 2 now.

Not every piece of old iron needs restoring. Plenty of good users out there for the kind of money I describe.
    In my opinion, there are certain machines that warrant more investment, because of the time savings or accuracy they can return.
    An edge sander simply does not fall into that category. It is a brutally simple machine for the most part from an operational standpoint. The extra $11-14k can buy more than a few hours of careful looking for and inspecting of possible good candidates- but, It is your money.