Thread: Wood recommendation

Wood recommendation

I am a novice needing a wood recommendation... I put it in the finish section since it is really about what will take a dark stain finish the best to give the look we want.

I am building built in cabinets for both sides of our fireplace. The cabinets are cream color with java glaze highlights. To go along with that, I want to glue up a face grain counter top for both side base cabs for the upper open shelf to sit on... and a mantel shelf... not rustic looking. more of a clean look... box shelf with upper and lower trim. I want the counter and mantel to be dark stained and not a very harsh grain.

I was going to use maple, but not sure how well it will take dark stain. Can you recommend a wood for the top and mantel shelf?

Thanks!

I’d start with a dark wood. If you start with a light wood, any scratches in service will be more obvious. In my area, the least-expensive dark woods are sapele and khaya (aka African mahogany).

What Jamie said, but I'd consider walnut, too.

John

Since a component of your question essentially revolves around coloring, I'll also note that what species you choose will also affect what you use to color it. You mentioned maple in your post (and I agree with the others that if you want dark, start dark) and the nature of maple doesn't lend itself to using a pigment based stain like you'd find at the home center because of the extremely fine pore structure. You'd need a dye for that for best results. For open grain species, pigment stains can work and a combination of pigments and dye can also work...it really depends upon the effect you want to arrive at. Coloring wood is an art form..."ideally" if you can find a species that doesn't need to be colored, you'll be ahead of the game and have much less work to do.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...