Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Rikon 10-324 vs 2002 Laguna LT16 bandsaws

New Rikon 10-324 vs 2002 Laguna LT16 bandsaws

Hello All,
    New here.

I have a General 490 bandsaw with a 6" resaw height. I'm a hobby woodworker with some experience. I make native american flutes, knife handles and have done a couple slab tables recently. I reclaim downed trees that have interesting grain and resaw smaller pieces on my bandsaw, but 6 inch height is not enough. I have some beautiful spalted maple I want to use for the base of a burl slab table I am doing but I need a deeper resaw ability.

I have my eye on 2 different bandsaws that I think will fit my needs...but I am having a hard time deciding.

I can pick up a brand new Rikon 10-324 (14" bandsaw) for $850 USD ( converted it from canadian $ for you guys) or a very well kept 2002 (italian made) Laguna LT16 for $1170. The Laguna comes with 4 brand new blades. Doesn't have the ceramic guides.

Both have similar resaw heights around 12" and 1.5 hp motors. Rikon is 110v Laguna is 220v.

Advantage of the Rikon is I get brand new, 5 yr warranty. Nice machine that will do what I need. Very good customer support. Also $300 cheaper.

Advantage of the Laguna is Italian built, bigger wheels (16" vs14"), can handle wider blades than the rikon, comes with 4 brand new blades (biggest is a 1" 3 tpi blade), 220hp motor bigger throat.

Anything I am missing here? Does either machine jump out as better? Suggestions?

Thanks
    Randy

Personally, a 5 year warranty goes a long way. The Rikon is the same unit as the 10-325 that was discontinued and replaced with the 10-326. The 325 had an enclosed cabinet while the 324 is an open stand. The new version (10-326) has a 1 3/4 hp motor and the new adjustable guides. I have the 325 and love it. It does all I need it to do. Price wise between the two, you can get a lot of blades for $300 plus a warranty. Of course its your decision and your money.

Compare the weight of the two machines...