Thread: Powder Post Beetle Question

Powder Post Beetle Question

Hey folks, I am a newbie here. I have been a "lurker" for a while, but finally decided to join because I had a specific question about powder beetles and lumber.

I have come across a fellow that is moving away, and selling around 1000 bd ft of hardwood of various species...oak, soft maple, hickory, walnut, and cherry. He had a bunch of logs milled about 10 years ago, and it has all been air drying since then...he has used some here and there for projects over the years.

I haven't seen the stash in person yet, but I am planning on it this weekend. I have only seen some general pictures of it. After talking more about the wood with him, he wanted to send me some more pictures of it, and even offered to plane out some pieces and shoot me some more pictures.

He started planing on the hickory, and after he got into it, he said he saw some evidence of powder beetles in the hickory. No other evidence of them in any other of the lumber, just the hickory. He doesn't want to sell me the hickory after finding that, nor would I want it.

My question is: Should I be concerned about infestation in the rest of the wood species that were stored in the same shop...even though there is no visual evidence of them in the other species? I do not know much about them, so I didn't know if it was possible to have eggs or larvae inside of the wood without having visual signs of them on the outside of the boards. Any specific questions i need to ask him about what he found?...or anything I need to look at specifically if i go look at the lumber?

Thanks!

Those little suckers love the white part of hickory but stop short of the darker, denser part of that tree.
    I stored some hickory in my new garage twenty years ago and I still battle them even after I fumigated twice.
    Check closely for their telltale 1mm holes in any lumber stored close to hickory.