Thread: How to finish Cherry wood.

How to finish Cherry wood.

I've never worked with cherry before. I recently scored about 100BF of cherry that has almost no figure or knots at all. Talk about "clear" wood, this is it! Additionaly, this wood is very pale when worked. I understand that setting the piece in the sun will oxidize the wood causing it to darken.

My normal finishing process is 4 coats of Maloof Ploy/Oil finish then about 4 coats of Semi-gloss Arm-R-Seal. This has worked well for me.

The big question is; Should I put the piece in the sun before or after the finishing??? Will the project darken AFTER I've finished the piece and set it in the sun????

I'd HATE to stain this beautiful wood but it is REALLY pale.

Thanks in advance for your help....... Ken
    If you can't fix it with a hammer, you have an electrical problem.

Cherry darkens naturally from both oxidation and UV exposure. It does take time (years) to do so, but UV exposure (sunlight) can accellerate the first effects quite noticably...not to the ultimate darkness, however.

I personally prefer to oil it before any "exposure". My normal regimen for cherry starts with a liberal application of BLO that is allowed to soak in for about a half hour before wiping any excess off. I allow that to cure for a few days and then apply a coat of dewaxed garnet shellac. In some cases, that "is" the finish. In others, it's a barrier layer to seal the oil and provide a good surface to apply other finishing products, such as the clear acrylic water bourn finishes I normally spray or an oil-based varnish of one form or another that I wipe on. Decorative items often just get the BLO and wax...I happen to like how it looks and how easy it is to do.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...