Thread: List Most Dangerous to Least Dangerous

List Most Dangerous to Least Dangerous

Can some experienced soul provide a list of tools/machines in order from what they feel is the most dangerous tool to the least dangerous tool? I'm a newbie in this world and a lurker but the recent accidents documented by other members have me thinking a lot about safety (and I arleady think a lot about it, so that's saying.......well, a lot). So I needed to speak up and just ask.

Thanks,
    Michael
    Last edited by Michael Em; 11-29-2005 at 12:06 PM.

Not trying to sound like a "wise guy"

#1 Any tool you do not know how to operate
    #2 Any dull tool you have to force to get it to cut
    #3 Any tool you have not matained and is not is tip top shape
    #4 YOU. You can work tired, under stress, in a hurry, had something to drink?

You can kill someone with a hammer quite easy..... it would be harder to do it with a table saw or shaper.

My son is happy turning on the Jet mini, he is not comfortable turning on the Oneway 2436. They both work the same, one is mine and that is the factor for him. So, for him, the Oneway is not as safe as the Jet Mini. Both are the same as far as my thinking.

I think a Radial Arm Saw is unsafe..... I don't use my dad's I just keep it because it was his.

I am sure you will be happy and safe with all the tools you will use.

Welcome!

The way I try to remember to look at it, is whichever tool I'm using at the time is the most dangerous. Any tool can hurt you, powered or not. So far the worst I've been hurt was when a cordless drill phillips bit popped out of the screw and into my finger, metal shavings and all. Keep your mind on what task you are performing. Don't let your mind wonder to the next task, or how you will finish the piece you are working on. In other words, keep focused. That's my thoughts for the day. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!