Thread: Shaker Style Bench

Shaker Style Bench

I had a long post all made up, but lost it while trying to get the photos to work...so here is the short version.

Shaker Style Bench, after one in The Book of Shaker Furniture, by John Kassey. Photos taken after I tested Tried and True on the top, but before I finished the entire bench.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Martin Shupe; 07-06-2003 at 1:58 AM.
    Martin, Granbury, TX
    Student of the Shaker style

Shaker Style Bench

Same bench, another view:
    Martin, Granbury, TX

Shaker Style Bench

My wife wanted a shelf, so since she approves my major expenditures, she gets a shelf, although not historically correct.

The wood is cherry, and the construction is drywall screws with plugs...I know, I know, I should have done through tennons, but maybe next time. I have been a woodworker off and on since high school, mostly off, due to job restrictions. I have read a lot, and watch Norm, and know a lot of theory, but I am just a beginner when it comes to application of my knowledge. I am a student of the Shaker style, and hope to get good enough to build furniture my grandkids will fight over.

I am not happy with the "chunky" appearance. It has to fit in a short hallway, so it is not as long as the original. I think it might look better with 3-4 inches more length on each end of the top.

I'll try to post another pic when I get done with the third coat of Tried and True...could be a couple months though. I need to buy a digital camera!
    Last edited by Martin Shupe; 07-06-2003 at 9:50 AM.
    Martin, Granbury, TX

Looking Good

Looks Good to me, Martin. What is it they say "Form follows function"? I never really understood that arguement, but I feel it is cool t6o say it. Carl
    18th century nut --- Carl