Thread: Planer questions.....

Planer questions.....

This morning i read a post about someone using there planer as a joiner. I am getting ready to buy my 1rst planer. Dewalt dw735. Anyways they were talking about using a jig to make it work. Does anyone have a pic of this jig. Also how thin of a piece can you plane. I am talking about 1/16-3/16. Is that possible without a jig or something. I have never used a planer before. The only thing i am worried about is not using the planer enough. I am only a hobbiest who has alot of things to build on his to-do list. How often do you hobbiest use you 13" planer? Do you think i should not buy a 13" and save up to buy something bigger. I am a little worried about how often i am going to use it becuase i usually are building something bigger than 13". Thanks Josh

Planer really comes into it's own if you are working with rough sawn wood.
    I do, so my planer (older DW733) gets used for every project.

Realistically are you ever going to use boards that are more than 12" wide? ok, I do, but it's not a common thing.

The larger planers often need 3 phase or 230 volt power, do you have that available?

Most guys recommend having a jointer too, but you can get by without one (planer sled, router, table saw, hand plane etc.)

Cheers

Ian

hi josh
    the decision about machines has a lot to due with how you see the hobby developing over the years. Personally this is my one hobby so I have invested pretty heavily in it without much regret. It also depends on your wallet. I lot of folks like the lunchbox planers and they seem to do a pretty decent job in spite of their small size. Since it seems like you are just getting going with this hobby, I would say get the small planer and use it until it reaches its limitations or you give up on the hobby. If after a few years you really find your self getting deeper into the hobby and working with bigger pieces of wood and such then start to look at bigger machines.