Thread: Freud FT2000e Router switch problem.

Freud FT2000e Router switch problem.

I have a Freud FT2000e router permanently mounted in a Woodpecker's Plunge Lift in a router table. The router is several years old, but does not have a lot of hours on it. I am a home shop hobbyist. The router switch is starting to act up intermittently, a problem I have heard is somewhat common with this router. The switch is left ON virtually all the time, and power to the router is controlled with an externally mounted switch. Lately I have had to fiddle with the router switch to get the router to start. Is there a home shop quick fix, or do I need to take the router to the local Freud Service Station, Arizona Armature. It is a 90 minute round trip to take the router to Arizona Armature. I did try using compressed air to blow out the switch without any disassembly of the router, but that has not resolved the problem - it still refuses to start from time to time. Can you suggest something I can try before taking the router table out of service to get the router fixed? Thanks.
    Dave Falkenstein aka Daviddubya
    Cave Creek, AZ

Hi Dave,

I'm not sure where you heard that this is a "somewhat common" problem but if you or someone you know can check the switch for continuity and find it is at fault the replacement is quite easy and straight forward.

Charles M
    Freud America, Inc.

Charles - thanks for your reply. The "somewhat common" comment is the result of having read of a switch problem several times on WW forums.

If you could describe how I should check the switch for continuity, I'm sure I can perform that test. I have a multi-meter.

Quote Originally Posted by Charles M From Freud
    Hi Dave,

I'm not sure where you heard that this is a "somewhat common" problem but if you or someone you know can check the switch for continuity and find it is at fault the replacement is quite easy and straight forward.

Charles M
    Freud America, Inc.
    Cave Creek, AZ