Thread: TS blade usage...

TS blade usage...

My previous posts on table saw alignment and burning problems got me to thinking about blades. This is kind of a newbie type question, but Ive been woodworking for a few years now and have only really used two blades, a frued chopsaw blade and a forrest WWII combination blade. What I am wondering is how many of you use specific blades for crosscut and rip and how many just put one combo blade in and leave it. Also, how often do you sharpen and how do you tell when its time to sharpen.
    Jason Morgan

I use an Everlast thin rip blade with stabilizer discs on my 10" TS, which I use mostly for ripping, and it works very well. I do crosscutting on my SCM slider or on the miter saw, so the only crosscutting my 10" TS sees is with the dado blade. All but a couple blades are Everlast. I think it is worthwhile to change out the proper blade for each operation. Try to organize your operations into a sequence that will minimize the number of blade changes required, rather than skipping the change-over and using the wrong blade. A good combo blade will do just fine, but the specific blades will do even better and allow you to get the most performance out of your TS.

Blog Entries

Dedicated blades

I use dedicated blades. In my opinion, a combination blade is a compromise so that it doesn't rip or crosscut as well as a dedicated blade will on the same saw. Yes you can get pretty decent cuts with a combination blade like a Forrest Woodworker II and maybe you save a bit of time. A 60 tooh blade will give a better quality cross cut than a 40 tooth blade will. Likewise a 24 tooth rip blade will cut faster and cooler than a 40 tooth blade. I've done cross cuts with my 24 tooth ripping blade and it will do the job, but the finish is not as nice as I get with the 60 or 80 tooth blades I have.