Thread: Black walnut logs...fair price?

Black walnut logs...fair price?

Inspired by Stu, I'm looking at an opportunity to buy some black walnut logs that will be freshly cut. The person that owns the trees was going to just cut them down and burn them to make room for a house expansion. (This is second-hand info BTW as I don't personally know anybody involved in this.)

The main question is what is a reasonable price for them? The trees look to be about 2' at the base and 30'+ tall and the plan seems to be to cut them into 10' sections.

Any further advice, opinions, suggestions, etc. are welcome as I have no experience with this but I do have room in the backyard and the patience to make good use of this opportunity. Thanks in advance for your thoughts on this.

Brett

I'm not sure what a fair price would be if you were buying it outright, but if the person was just going to burn them down, I would think hauling them away would be a fair price. Saves him the gasoline and the clean up afterwords. If he really just wants to burn something then offer to leave him the Branch's.
    Dick

No Pain-No Gain- Not!
    No Pain-Good

Dick's got it nailed! You gotta butter 'em up real good about spending your blood and sweat just hauling the sucker out of there for them!

Do you plan to mill the logs on site or haul the whole log elsewhere for slab up?
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

there are national buyers guides for stump prices on all domestic hardwoods. I don't get the publication, but someone here probably does. the price is going to depend on the grade of log.

without knowing the grade a reasonable price would be 75 cents per bd foot.. you probably have 500 bd feet in the tree

lou

Remember the published prices are usually for a full logging truck load delivered to the mill....