Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bandsaw Blade Guides - Need Pics.

Rob Will Guest

Bandsaw Blade Guides - Need Pics.

I'm a WW newbie and I need some education about bandsaw blade guides. Would any of you care to snap a close up picture of your of your blade guides and post them here? Do you like the waythey work? Is one particular style of blade guide better for WIDE blades as opposed to a scrolling blade setup? Adjustment tips?

Generally speaking, if I purchase an OLD IRON saw like a Tannewitz or Oliver 36", can / should modern blade guides be installed?

Thanks for the advise!

Rob

Panhans APA guides are considered to be the best guides in my neck of the woods.

Regards,

Christian
    "On Wednesday, when the sky is blue,
    And I have nothing else to do,
    I sometimes wonder if it's true
    That who is what and what is who."

(A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh)

Here are the MM euro - guides........
    Attached Images Attached Images

Rob,

For those big saws, Carter Products offers 2 series in several sizes each.

One series uses slippery alloy flat guides and a thrust bearing. This version is cheaper and better if you really need to get the guides as close as possible to the work.

The more popular series uses bearings for the guides and a grooved inline bearing on the back. This variety is best for heavy use and resawing. The bearing guides are in full contact with blade yet produce virtually no friction since they travel with the blade.

www.carterproducts.com

Rob, I have a Tannawitz bandsaw and I can't imagine a better guide system that what they have on their saws already. Unless you get one with bad or wore out guides I would'nt change them. Their may be better guides if your just going to use 1/8" or 3/16" blades but I run 1/4" blades on mine without any problems.

Rob Will Guest

Tannewitz Blade Guides

Does anyone have a photo of Tannewitz (36") blade guides?

Thanks for the info.....it is helping a lot
    Rob

Rob Will Guest