Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electricity Fundamentals Question - Long

Question Electricity Fundamentals Question - Long

I am currently attempting to plan the lighting and electrical layout for my basement workshop. I am an electricity novice (read illiterate) and am seeking advise/education on the subject.

What I am trying to gain from your input:
    Creat the most flexible, yet simple electrical layout/plan

After I complete the current framing phase, I plan to disconnect and reroute the current electrical layout (ie remove the existing lights and wiring within the basement then reconnect any wires that were shared with the basement fixtures back to their appropriate feeds). I will then place the new outlet boxes and run wires back to where the new sub panel (type and size undecided - not enough information yet) will be installed. I will have an electrician install the sub panel, install fuses, and do the final connections to the runs I have installed. Hopefully he will further educate me along the way, though I do plan on discussing the layout prior to running any wire.

The shop is/will be a one man operation (most of the time). However, I do see the possability of working together with my Father, FIL, BIL, and hopefully one day, my step son.

At the moment I do not own the stationary equipment that will eventually fill my woodshop (plan on basics, TS, BS, CMS, Cyclone, Planer, Joiner, etc). I am still using my "portable" tools I purchased when we lived in a townhouse. I will be replacing these tools as needed/funds available once the renovation is complete. So, not knowing the exact specifications of tools and wanting the most flexible arrangement for the future, what would you do?

What I do know/would like to do:
    Install sub panel (lockable off) for safety and flexability
    Multiple circuits for lighting - not all on sub panel
    Multiple circuits for electrical outlets (120)
    Multiple circuits for electrical outlets (240)