Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: walnut

walnut

Tonight i went to see about buying some walnut that had been just cut off the log. there was lots of white wood alongside the brown. I made a comment about so much white and he replied it will turn brown in time. I didn't buy his answer as I'm just a rookie learning. I didn't buy the wood either. White do you pros say? Will it turn brown over time or not? TIA Jack

no way.... what is that guy thinking ? that "white" is sapwood and will never turn any other color. I hate to suggest this, but either the guy who was selling the wood knows absolutely nothing about hardwood or he is a person who somehow does not know what the word "truth" actually means.

stay away from that guy .

best wishes
    Lou

I agree with lou...and welcome to the Creek!

My understanding is that it will turn brown after it's been hit with some sort of steam (possibly under pressure?) and then kiln dried. I believe this is what the mills do to increase the yield. So basically if you had purchased the walnut from him your wood would NOT have changed color...
    I can pay retail anywhere, so how's your service?
    Grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory one project at a time
    Maker of precision cut firewood

The wood that is white is sap wood, it will turn darker but it will not be as dark as the hart wood. If you use the sap wood it will make a good looking project you might want to sill all sides to keep it from warping (the sap wood will warp worse than hart wood will sealing it will keep it as bad.

Hello and welcome to the creek Jack.