Thread: Wiring Question

Wiring Question

Not sure where to post this. I'm trying to redo the wiring in my basement workshop and wish to add an outlet to or before what is presently a light bulb fixture. I attach a crude diagram of the wires going into the fixture. Basically there is a 12-3 cable with a white, red, black and ground into the junction and a cable to the switch and one to the next outlet, and one to the bathroom lights. I've looked at my wiring book and can not find how to convert this into an outlet into which I can plug stuff. The two wires, one white and the other black into the center of the diagram is what is connected to the light bulb fixture presently with no ground wire to it. The colorless wires are white.

Thanks,

DarrenLighting wiring.JPG

Darren,

(I'm not an electrician, and living in Ontario, I am under a different code than you. That said...)

I think you must have made a mistake in that drawing, as the wiring to the switch/light just does not look right.

If there already is an outlet coming out of the box, then I would think that you can just wire up another outlet to those same wires.

According to your picture, and other standard wiring practices, the BLACK and WHITE from the 12-3 (marked as "POWER" in picture) should be HOT all the time, you can pigtail your outlet to those connections. The RED wire is switched on and off.

Rob Will Guest

Pigtails

Darren,
    It looks like you need to add a set of short leads where the power comes in to the first wire nuts. This lead would power your nearby receptacle.

A different approach would be to cut the power wire before it gets to this box and install a receptacle in the line (if you can get to it)

Remember that often times lighting is on 14 ga wire / 15 amp circuit breaker. By the time you subtract the lighting load, you won't have much of an outlet (capacity).

Be safe

Rob

Darren, two questions for you: