Thread: Turning Video

Turning Video

With all the excitement and hoopla lately with the GIS Jet Mini Lathe Sale, and myself getting a "Big" Lathe from Terry Quiram next week, I managed to get my hands on a Video I found very informative. I am new to turning, and the "Bowl Turning with Del Stubbs" Video offers a great insight into turning with the various tools, sharpening, mounting Bowl Blanks to the Lathe, and a lot of other great information. I would recommend this Video to anyone who, like me, is new to turning. I am currently getting a few lessons from my Uncle, and this Lathe thing is WAY more enjoyable than I ever imagined.............I should have bought a Lathe YEARS ago! So far, so good.............no major catastrophies and no injuries, so that is a plus! If you can, check out the Video, I think you will find it helpful. (There are many great Close-up shots where you get a great idea on tool angle and other techniques.) Did I mention that Turning is BIG FUN?

Del's video is one of the best and quite entertaining, too. It was the first one in my library, as a matter of fact. I wish he did more but I heard he went into other directions that did not include turning. If true, that's too bad.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Hi Kevin,

I think that Del made that tape around 1985, it is still my favorite.

His joy of turning almost jump off the screen. I still put in in the VCR on occasion. Mostly when things are going bad.

I do have to pass on this story to you. I went to the AAW Symposium in St. Paul a couple of years ago. During the Banquet I saw this guy that looked really familar to me. It took me a couple of minutes to realize that It was Del. I kind of snuck up to him and realized that he was talking to a guy I know. After the proper introductions, I went on to tell him how much his tape had meant to me, and how much it had helped me along the path. He seemed really surprised to hear that. He said,