Thread: Organizing Sketchup Workspace; Aligning parts; mirroring parts

Organizing Sketchup Workspace; Aligning parts; mirroring parts

I'm new to Sketchup and new to the forum. I design and build outdoor furniture and recently discovered Sketchup and, like many others, am really excited by the possibilities. Preliminary questions: First, how to best organize the workspace. My adirondack chair has 14 unique parts. I understand that I can use components and groups to work on these parts. Is there a good approach to laying them out as you go along? Seems like the workspace could get awful cluttered.

Second, is there a snap-to or some other feature available to align parts? For example, the front legs of the chair have dadoes cut in them to receive the front rail. Is there a way to snap the rail to the dado so that the ends of the rail don't stick out or overlap the legs in different planes? I'm just finding it hard to align things and trust that they're in the correct plane.

Finally, when using the scale feature to mirror a component, which handle do you select and how do you move it to get the mirrored image? Thanks for any help!

Kevin, welcome to the Creek. I haven't a lot of time at the moment so I'll keep this short.

I generally start drawing parts that have a known reference point, i.e the ground. The ground plane is the surface defined by the red and green axes. The Blue one is the vertical one with the solid blue pointing up.

After the legs, I would add parts that reference to the legs and on and on.

You can move geometry to other layers and turn the layers on and off as desired if some parts are getting in the way of drawing others. Always do your drawing on Layer 0 and move the geometry later.