Thread: Pith turned Box Elder bowls

Pith turned Box Elder bowls

<b><font color="#3333FF"><font size=+2>Hello Everyone</font></font></b>,
    <P>I'm one of those people who likes to try out new techniques and ideas on occasion. <font color="#000099"><Small><B><I>Lets face it, I'm an engineer through and through.</font></Small></B></I>

<P>So when I was first exposed to the <font color="#006600"><B>Soap Soaking</font></B> technique by Phil Wall, I was intrigued. In fact, this was the only procedure that I was using when I first started. I was able to turn out some OK looking pieces, that didn't crack but eventually warped to a somewhat oval shape. I wasn't too happy with that and decided to pursue a more traditional approach to drying. That is, until this past weekend.

<P>A couple of weeks ago, I came across a document on the <I><B>World of Woodturners' Website</I></B> (WOW) by a gentlemen named <I><B>Leif Thorvaldson</I></B>. Leif was using a 1:1 ratio of soap to water and was reported to be having a great deal of success. When I first got into the LDD <I>(<B>L</B>iquid <B>D</B>ish <B>D</B>etergent)</I> solution, I was using Ron Kent's ratio of 6:1. Leif also recommends that once the piece is soaked, you wipe it off, turn to final thickness, sand, and then finish all in the same session. Well, this sort of blew my socks off. I was naturally skeptical at first. But decided to give it a shot. What the heck? It's just wood. I choose a couple of pieces of Box Elder in this experiment. And not only would I test the LDD method, but I would test it in a very extreme case. Pith Turned bowls.
    <HR>