Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which cordless drill to buy?

which cordless drill to buy?

I have a Dewalt 12V that I really like. I also have 2 cheap 18V that I'm going to throw away (live and learn). I want another like the Dewalt 12V. I'm a hobby woodworker so no job site stuff. There are some new ones out there so I'm wondering if there is something I might like better than another Dewalt. Keep it below $150.00. What about the Bosch Impact Driver? What is the difference between an impact driver and a cordless drill?

Thanks,
    Rick
    Last edited by Rick de Roque; 09-17-2006 at 6:25 PM.

I've switched from PC to Bosch.
    Better balanced, batteries come out, go in easier.
    Plus the fact if you buy the models with the Blue cell batteries, they have a 3 year warranty. [Have to fill out the card and send it in though]

Rick,
    I've used several of the major brands and I like the 12V M-force Makita the best. The Dewalt XRP would be a close second. Both of these will be up around or slightly above your cost limit but they have better batteries and gears. The long and short of it is that most of what's available from the major brands are pretty good. The batteries alway seem to be the main issue with any of them.
    Rob

Buy a Dewalt 12 volt impact driver and then you will have two great tools that share the same batteries and charger. You will get two more batteries and another charger with the new tool. Impact drivers are especially good for driving screws fast and more easily than using a drill/driver.
    Dave Falkenstein aka Daviddubya
    Cave Creek, AZ