Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PM2000 riving knife system

PM2000 riving knife system

Hello world!

I am brand new to the forums (this is my first post) but I've searched a bunch and have already found tons of valuable info. So much good info that I'm getting really close to pulling the trigger on my very first table saw (I'm leaning heavily toward the PM2000 but was also considering the 1023SLX, as well as the GI and Delta hybrids at one point - but I'm really sold on the riving knife feature). There's one last question for me to ponder before I can feel 100% comfortable with my purchase-to-be. I'm new to all the TS lingo so please bear with me if my language is off... oh, and FWIW, I'm somewhat of a newbie woodworker (dad introduced me to many tools and projects as a kid but I haven't done much recently) with the expectation that woodworking will become a hobby and I'd be working on various home-improvement projects, e.g. shelving, bookcases, cabinets, basic furniture. However, I could very well decide that woodworking's not for me and end up selling the thing. Anyway, on with my question:

I spent some time fiddling with a PM2000 at the local Woodcraft and was comparing it to the nearby SawStop. I was mainly looking at their riving knife systems. Has anyone had a chance to use the optional "low profile riving knife" on the 2000 (presumably a knife similar to the "shark fin" knife included with the SS)? I'm curious to know how well the "pivot" system works on the 2000 - particularaly in terms of how well it maintains the all-important knife-to-blade orientation - as the blade is raised/lowered. Is Powermatic's a proven system? I read that SS uses some gas strut system to achieve uniform vertical movement (no pivot). How does the new Grizzly G0605X 12" do it (watch this demo)? How do the Euro saws implement their riving knife systems? Is PM's "pivot" system considered "experimental" (like their castor system)?