Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dust/chip collection

dust/chip collection

I was reviewing some of what Bill Pentz has written on his website. It occurs to me that this could become very involved. And there's his apparent recommendation for using 6" tubing to connect tools to the dust collector.

It's overwhelming.

What are you using? Have many people gone the whole "Bill Pentz route" or something less than that?

What are *you* doing?

I can say that right now, I'm at the point of deciding which dust collector to try shoehorning into my micro sized shop. I actually use a shop vac with a cleanstream filter as the collection device for my planer and soon my TS. That's about it at the moment. There's more to come, but I want a sense of how far to take this. I'm a hobby woodworker building maybe 2 or 3 serious projects in a year.

John, no expert but it seems to be a rags or riches kinda deal.
    Those with both the funds and room seem to go for the major DC systems and those who have less room or money go for something else.

If your like me and don't have the room to put a full blown DC system in your shop/garage/whatever, you might consider one of the portable units, I have the JDS Dust Force which works well for me, and its on wheels so I can move it around if needed, I'm also running the 4" ducts and they seem to work fine.

Most here go by the bigger is better theory, and that's fine I guess if you have the room, kinda hard though for some of us.

Good luck with your choice, it can be confusing.

Al

A shop vac won't work very well. Presently I use the 2 HP 1200 CFM from harbor freight. It costs less then $200 and does a great job of chip collection. When I build my perm shop I'll go with the pentz design.