Thread: Murphy bed

Murphy bed

Hi Folks,

Some time ago I was asking questions about murphy bed hardware. Thanks to those who helped out. I finally finished the bed. This is my biggest project to date, but was not all that complicated to make, although it took me a long time!

I used the Create a Bed hardware kit from lee Valley. Great instructions with the kit. The cabinet is hickory ply with solid wood edging. Headboard, trim & moulding are solid wood. The crown moulding is a built up moulding using 4 pieces of 4/4 lumber and 3 router bits. Finish is blo and orange shellac.

Thanks for looking, this is my first project, I felt worthy of posting here!

Sorry, for the skewed photos, but it is a queen size bed in a very small room, with lots of other stuff in there. Could not easily get a head on shot.

Jonathan

bed1small.JPG

bedopensmall.JPG

That turned out really nice, Johnathan! I really like the panels. Very rich looking.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

I was hoping you'd come back with the results. Great job ! I'm curious to know how you got that big panel glued up. I used to build these things for my living and I know a queen-size panel takes up a lot of space and is a bear to move around the shop.

Cheers
    IG
    I'm guided by the beauty of our weapons -- Leonard Cohen

Jonathan, Great job on your murphy bed, the finish on the hickory ply looks great! How's the weather up there? I might be heading back up there in mid January. I was up there late last month, right after you guys got the two feet of snow!
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

That looks great. The hickory ply has terrific figure. Couple of questions:

Do you use a conventional mattress and box spring on that?
    Is the bed a more or less standard height off the ground when it's down?