Thread: question about veritas mkii honing jig

question about veritas mkii honing jig

i'm pretty new to sharpening planes.i have the original veritas honing guide which i wasn't really satisfied with so today at my local woodcraft store i bought the veritas mkii honing guide.i really like it, i can finally get the proper angle and the blade is now square to the edge.the problem i'm having is when i went to put a micro bevel on it and the micro was not paralell to the first bevel.is the micro bevel really needed?what's my next step, call lee valley or bring it back to woodcraft?i'm really happy with the guide in general, maybe i got a bad one.thanks fred.http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.a...072,43078&ap=1

I had the same trouble with mine when i first got it but soon discovered that it wasn't the jig, it was me. The little micro bevel knob is kinda stiff and you need to pull it out a bit to rotate it. I found myself putting pressure on the blade and kicking it out of square. Now i make sure to hold just the jig. You can also put the bevel setting thingy back on to verify the blade is still square. YMMV.

Brian
    The significant problems we encounter cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.

The penalty for inaccuracy is more work

I've also noticed that my microbevels aren't perfectly uniform all the way across the iron at times. I haven't worried about it too much and haven't noticed any difference in performance from one iron with a nice even micro bevel to another that wasn't perfect.
    Where did I put that tape measure...