Thread: Compressor Question

Compressor Question

I am pretty new to the forum, and just got a DW51256 Straight Finish Nailer as a throw-in on the 718 CSMS that I really wanted.

Is there a compressor I can use that would also safely power a hobby-type airbrush as well as a finishing sprayer? As you may guess, I am not an expert in these areas.

Low price would be a major bonus

Hello.
    Check out the SCFM requirements of the spray gun you want to use, and gauge the compressor accordingly.
    The airbrush and the finishing nailer are generally not real heavy air users.
    You can get by with a small - say 1/2 HP compressor.
    I bought one of the small Coleman's Lowes had on "Black Friday" for $49.00. By hooking up a 5 gallon portable tank to it, it does OK with my Porter Cable finishing nailer.
    I bought the little Coleman simply because it was cheap and very portable. I'm only using it as an example of how air requirements for air tools can vary all across the board./How you can gang an aux tank to even a tiny compressor to supply a more constant air flow.

My other compressor is also a Coleman. It's an older 110 v 3hp model w/15gal tank.(which in today's terms - is probably a 2hp). IIRC, it puts out 7 SCFM or so @ 40psi and around 5 or 6 SCFM @ 90psi. It's adequate for most light work. It runs hard though to keep up with even a small bleeder type cup gun.
    Figure around $300 or so for a similar compressor. (checking real quick - yeah, Sears has a 2hp with similar output for $299).