Thread: Refinish Black Table with Shellac

Refinish Black Table with Shellac

I am a lurker on the Sawmill Creek forum (actually I am a member but have not contributed as I am a hobby woodworker with more to learn than contribute). I did see a post by JayStPeter from last April regarding Black Shellac. My question is related.

I have an end table top to refinish that is black and the original finish is shellac (alcohol dissolves the finish). I would like to use shellac to refinish and maintain the black color. I do have a supply of "blond" shellac flakes. Can I add a tint that will result in a black or should I obtain darker shellac and use that for the finish. I intend to apply several coats using spray equipment.

An Interesting Question

Warren, I don't have an answer to your question, but have one of my own: How would shellac tinted with Trans-Tint black dye work? I know Trans=Tint works with shellac - I've used it - But wonder how opaque one could get it. I'd be glad for any opinions.

Oh,and wewlcome to the creek, Warren. Swimming in the Creek is not limited to those with answers; people with questions are also welcome. Else, I'd not have all these posts to my name.
    Last edited by Carl Eyman; 01-10-2007 at 1:46 PM.
    18th century nut --- Carl

I don't have an answer for you, but did you know that the old 78 rpm phonograph records were actually made from black shellac?

Perhaps, if you can find an old broken one, you could dissolve it in alcohol and end up with the black shellac you need.

On a more serious note, I'd call or email Jeff Jewitt at Homestead Finishing and ask for his recommendations. He sells shellac flakes, and ThansTint dyes, as well as other products, and can almost surely answer your question.

black shellac

Hi all,