Thread: Several pen questions (kinda long)

Several pen questions (kinda long)

I'm a newbie to pen turning - I've turned about 20 pens / pencils so far and I have a few questions (actually I have a lot of questions but I'll just ask a few now).

1. Using the American flat-top pen kits, the top barrel does not fit really tight on the botom of the pen - is that normal? I've handed a couple of pens to friends and the first thing they do is simply try to twist the top barrel to expose the pen. It just rotates on the pen without exposing the point. I have to tell them to put down pressure on the barrels and twist. Is there a way to increase the fit? Do any of you include an "instruction sheet" with the pens?

2. My least favorite part of the pen-making process is gluing the tubes in the blanks. Do most of you use CA glue? How do you apply it? I've found it extremely messy stuff to work with and hard to apply. I've tried straws and Q-tips but it's still not pleasant. Once I had it cure before the tube was fully inserted. I tried Gorilla glue on a few of the last ones I made and it seems to be a little easier to work with (although it's the next day before I can proceed). Any suggestions?

3. For pens that leave a tenon of the tube - Do you cut the blank to the correct size first or expose the tenon with a parting tool? I've tried both and I like cutting the blank to the correct size first but that leads to my next question.

4. Does anyone make a little tool that would slip over the tenon and "clean it up" similar to the way the pen mills work on the other end? Currently, I get the razor knife out to clean up the excess glue that always oozes out.

OK, I'll stop for now. I appreciate your responses.

Jerry

Huntsville, AL (The Sun and Fun Capital of The South)

Answers - really long

Wow !! lots of questions require lots of answers. Hopefully I have answered them all. If not please respond.