Thread: Shooting Board

Shooting Board

The new edition of FWW has an article on a jib for precise joints. I see how it is made but I do not understand how it would be used. It seems that the plane would shave off some of the jaw blocks. I would like to build one but I am short on the smarts to figure these things out.
    Thank you
    Jerry

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry Thompson
    I would like to build one but I am short on the smarts to figure these things out.
    Hey Jerry,
    if you pay for the shipping, I'll send you some smarts.
    Seriously, I just went to get the new FWW today and my bookstore didn't have it out yet -- guess I'll check this week. What you're describing sounds like a miter jack -- I'd like to build one myself.
    _Andy

The design of the one in FWW is quite interesting...it supports both 45º miter sweetening as well as accomodates 90º work for refining tenons, etc. I may actually try to build one sometime.

Jerry, I'm far from an expert on this...in fact, quite the opposite. But my impression is that this type of shooting board doesn't get damaged for a long time simply because you're taking extremely fine cuts on the workpiece using the end-grain for support and just using the jig for guidance.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

I have a few and the fence is back of the work piece and the plane just rides back and forth since the plane body limits the iron...the side of the plane is on the bottom...I use a LN #9 which is a Miter plane designed for shooting.
    The article in Woodwork was very strange because the boards were designed for a left handed person and they showed him sawing with his right hand...they did not seem to mention they were shown opposite hand....it is worth looking at??? Very starnge!
    Shooting will improve your woodwork....I have shown using them for different projects on SMC...like jointing real veener and panels