Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12", 10", Powermatic, Grizzly

12", 10", Powermatic, Grizzly

I finally have cash in hand, but I cannot choose the perfect cabinet saw. I am by no means an expert wood worker, but I am hoping those who are, can offer their opinion as to the significance of these characteristics I see in each of these saws:

- Grizzly 5959z - This is great looking 12" 5hp saw with the configuration that I want. However, the blade is all the way to one side of the slot. A zero clearance insert won't have much "meat" on one side to prevent particls from slipping between the blade and insert. (see http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...ighlight=5959z)

- Grizzly G0605x - This is also a 12" 5hp saw. I have read great things about the riving knife, but never used one. The thing that concerns me here is there is a cast iron wing on the left side of the table, but not on the right. I am not sure if this is a big deal, but the other saw's don't seem to make this same sacrifice.

- Powermatic 1792010k - This is a 10", 5hp saw. This looks like a great saw. However, it is about $500 more than the grizzlys, and it has a 10" blade instead of the 12" blade. It seems like this one costs more, but you get less. I can see the difference between a 12" blade and 10" blade on paper, but in practice, is it a big deal?

I am sure all of these saws are excelent saws. But, given the choices, I am not sure which of my concerns above are significant.

Anyone have any advice, suggestions, or comments?

Thanks in advance!

Eric Nelson

Hi, one of my first questions would be why you want a 5 HP saw. Do you intend to perform heavy production ripping with a stock feeder?

I would suggest that a 3HP cabinet saw with a 10 inch diameter blade will handle everything you want to do, unless you have some very deep cuts.

I have never needed a 12 inch saw in 30 years of woodworking for the furniture I make, your requirement may be different.