Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weekly Woodturning Photography Tips 1 & 2

Weekly Woodturning Photography Tips 1 & 2

Several forum members indicated interest my photographic tips, so here goes. I will try to post these tips as my work schedule permits, approximately weekly. To get on the same schedule as the other forum these are posted to, I will post the first two this week. When I can I will post pictures to help illustrate the topic. What I write here refers specifically to digital images, but most everything I suggest in these posts is applicable to film images as well. Film is not dead…just on life support. I have been a commercial photographer for 20 years but I am certainly not the end all authority on the subject. These tips are certainly not the only way to do things, but are techniques that seem to work under most circumstances. I have tried to simplify things as much as possible so that specialized and expensive equipment is not necessary. Everything I describe here should be readily available at fabric stores and hardware stores for a minimum expense, and I’ll try to give the anticipated cost where applicable. Sometimes I forget and use terminology that only a photographer would understand. Feel free to reply asking for a definition or clarification if necessary. I am not a software guru, and really only use one image editing package (Adobe Photoshop), so I don’t have any advice or answers to software or image manipulation related issues. I use real computers; Macintosh for those who don’t know (Ouch, just got myself in real trouble didn’t I?). For this reason I don’t know much about the bazillions of Windows compatible products available. Please Please Please someone else who is familiar with software volunteer to take this job. I am a firm believer that an image should be shot correctly in the first place so I can go home to make a pile of sawdust instead of fooling around with an image for hours on end trying to fix with a computer what I should ha