Thread: application help zinsser seal coat.

application help zinsser seal coat.

Hi all,

I am in desperate need for help. I built an entertaiment center and decided to use zinsser seal coat + transtint brown Mahogany to seal + tone the cabinets, the cabinet is plywood with pecan frame.

The problem I am having is that this product is not easy to brush (using a foam brush) and I am having runs and overlaps that get too dark. I can see this product would have been easy to apply if I spray before assemably, not it is too late and it is ruining my project.

How can I apply this product so that it covers very uniformily and without much problem.

Any help would be much appreaciated.

luis

Quote Originally Posted by Luis Oliveira View Post
    The problem I am having is that this product is not easy to brush (using a foam brush)
    Luis,
    I am no expert, but I don't think you can accomplish quality results with a foam brush. You may need to spend some money on a good quality brush. You can pick one up from Homestead finishing.

Some good reading material:
    2nd paragraph from the bottom
    Linky
    Last edited by Alex Berkovsky; 05-15-2007 at 7:17 PM. Reason: Added links

Shellac should be applied with a quality brush...and foam brushes don't quality for that. They are fine for touchups with house paint, but are not going to cut it for finishes that you need to be able to control. Invest in a good quality brush for your shellac and dedicate it to the task. In fact, you should have one dedicated to de-waxed product (like seal coat or de-waxed flakes you dissolve yourself) and one for waxy shellac....don't mix them up.

Shellac also requires a different technique than brushing varnish...the solvent (alcohol) evaporates very quickly, so you need to get it on and then get away from it. You don't want to over brush or visit an area that has started to cure. Work the wet edge and move quickly. Practice really helps a lot and shellac is inexpensive.
    --