Thread: Newbie has many nerdy plane questions...

Newbie has many nerdy plane questions...

Hello--This is my first time to post here or on anyother woodworking forum--

I am slowly moving toward woodworking as a hobby. At the present time, I am at the very earliest learning stages of planes. I have been reading a lot and have purchased several planes. My plan is to learn as I go--Im primarily buying old stanleys off ebay. Some are as new, but others far from it. My most rescent addition that arrived yesterday is a number 7--apparently made about 1910. I like these planes, but I already have an expensive hobby so will not be working toward an exhaustive collection. Thus, the plane is a 1910, but I just got it to use and am not worried about making alterations.

I have read about tuning planes and am going to head that direction with this one. So far, I am working to clean it of dirt. The Handle on the back is cracked in two. I plan to glue that. The blade seemed to be at about a 30 or more degree angle and it was very dull. It Blade is slightly convex. The Cap (?) that screws to the blade is slightly deformed looking and has some elevation o the corners to that even when it is back1/8th of an inch or so from the blade, it gets wood between it and the plane plade. I have very few tools and will have to wait for finances prior to getting one of the nice sharpeners I have seen folks talk about here. I have one of the 20$ set-ups from home depot with 3 different stones on it--coarse, medium and fine.

Now, with that background, my questions:

Should the blade have some convexity or should I grind it flat?

So far, I am grinding it at a 25 degree angle with a file and the item I mentioned above.

The shavings that come from this are narrow--1/2 inch, and all crinkled up. not like the ones from my newer number 4 and 5 planes. The wood the plane goes over is rough after it passes over --not surprising given the shaving it is making. Any ideas on this?