Thread: Etching useing a laser engraver on Glass

Etching useing a laser engraver on Glass

Hi,

Does anyone etch on glass or crystal with a sandblasting machine? Some use photebrasive products and others use laser tape or mask. Which do you think is better and why? I'm new at this and bought a laser engraver to use laser tape or mask. Currently, I'm using photebrasive's rapidmask. If anyone has a better why of doing this let me know and if what do you think of using a laser engraver?

Thanks for everyones help in advance.
    Mohammed

For shallow blasting we use paper based application tape (used to position cut vinyl letters) but it wont withstand a lot of blasting. You could try heavier gauge self ahesive paper for a more robust resist.
    For real deep blasting we use polyester based "sign vinyl'' and laser thru that and use it as a mask. difficult to remove tho. We use this as a resist when acid etching too.
    Last edited by Rodne Gold; 06-21-2007 at 9:21 AM.

I used only vinyl for sandcarving of glass. I would apply it to the glass, laser the image, wrap the uncovered areas and blast away.

On items with compound curves, (wine glasses for example) I would do the following:

1.Take a flat piece of scrap aluminum and apply spray adhesive to it
    2. Position the vinyl with the backing on the aluminum and laser to the backing. This is called kiss-cutting. (this keeps the vinyl flat and permits an even raster)
    3. Apply clear Contact paper to the engraved mask. You can buy this at WalMart.
    4.Cut to size, remove (carefully) from backing and apply to glass. Use a tool to be sure all bubbles are out.
    5. Very carefully remove the Contact paper being careful not to lift any of the islands from your image. (the centers of o's, p's etc.0
    6. Finish wrapping and blast.
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7