Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings and a few initial questions.

Greetings and a few initial questions.

Hi All,

My name is Joshua and I am new to the creek. I just joined a few days ago and to be honest I just started turning. I have a cousin that bought a lathe on a whim, the wretch! , and now a few weeks later here I am with a new lathe, some tools a few beginner style attempts under my belt and I am thoroughly hooked. Just a few weeks in and I am having a blast.

But of course I have lots and lots of questions. First off, anyone else here on the Creek out in the SLC, Utah area?

And now for the questions that I have found a bit pressing. My first set of tools were not HSS. Being new I of course bought a set of tools for a whopping $9 and I got what I paid for. Having read here about better tools and the difference that they can make I went out and got some nicer HSS tools but still the beginner quality. Actually following a few posts here I found a local Harbor Freight and got there $38 set. Wow that is a lot of setup for this question... sorry. I was turning a dried Maple bowl blank I bought from McBeaths hardwoods here in SLC and it was very dry and very very hard to work. It did work but it was much more difficult than some green/waxed stuff I bought off of ebay. The tips of the tools I was using all have dark discolorations now. Appears to be blue for the most part. I read here about that in general and comments where made about heating things up too much and destroying the temper of the tools. I was wondering if that is what I did. Does having that discoloration mean I ruined them already? Or is it more normal? I would love any advice or information anyone would care to share because I am truly at a loss to know what it means and what to do.