Thread: Newbie here - question about renting a paint sprayer

Newbie here - question about renting a paint sprayer

Hi everyone,

I found this forum while researching paint sprayers, and it would seem that there's a lot of smarts here.

I have to paint my basement walls & floor. The walls are fieldstone. I did this once before by hand (about 9-10 years ago), and refuse to go through that again. If I recall, it took me about 8-10 hours to get one coat of paint up, due to the heavy contours of the stone.

So my debate is should I rent or buy a sprayer. My local rent-all place charges $85/day. I'm finding reconditioned Spraytechs for $185 plus $20 s/h. My concern with a rental unit is that there are no instructions (and I've never used a sprayer before), and I have no idea how well the sprayer has been maintained. I keep reading about how crucial it is that these sprayers be kept clean to avoid clogs... and I worry that previous renters may have had that "ah, who cares - it's a rental!" attitude. The last thing I need is the headache of trying to do the maintenance that someone else failed to do.

So am I being paranoid (as usual!)? I should also add that the house needs painting, but I'm not sure if a sprayer is the way to go (clapboard siding). So beyond this project, I cannot think of anything off-hand that the sprayer would be used for. But gosh, I sure would like to have a brand-new sprayer to play with!

TIA!

- Erika

The rental stores i use are pretty good about maintence and most will give you tips on how to use them. The problem you may have is the amount of paint that will be in the air in your basement. You probably would be covered in it. If you go that route use a resperator and look into a hvlp sprayer to reduce blow back.

If you don't maintain them, and return them to the rental house clogged, you can lose your deposit. (normally replacement cost of one).