Thread: Granite Counter Top

Granite Counter Top

Does anyone know how you attach a bottom mount sink to a Granite Top. LOML got a great deal on an Atlantic Green Granite vanity top and I am in the planning stage for a Butternut Vanity to go beneath it. I have no experience with Granite so any help would be appreciated. Also how to attach the top to the vanity would be nice too!

Thanks in advance.

Kurt

Kurt,

I can't help with the bottom-mounted sink but when I installed the combo Corian top/sink in my 1/2 bath, the directions just recommended putting several nickel-sized dabs/blobs of silicone around the flat spots of the vanity that the counter will rest on. That was it. Once you hook up the plumbing and sink, it will remain in place. Also, its own weight tends to keep it sound.
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

Here's how I do undermounts and granite tops....

I cover the tops of the base cabinets with plywood -- usually 5/8". I cut the sink cutout into it, and then with a router carve the top of the plywood so that the top of the sink's flange is flush with the top of the plywood. Put a bead of caulk on top of the flange before the granite goes on. It will mostly squeeze out, but the remaining caulk seals water out. (The other way to do the caulk is to put the granite in place first and then work the caulk in. My granite guy does it this way. He uses latex caulk, and colors it on-site to match the granite.)